Road to Financial Freedom

image

What I am looking for out of life is freedom. I long to get out of the rat race long before I get trapped into it. I am currently a legal studies major in college and I see that I really like the profession so far. I have been pondering on a bachelors degree with this program. With this career under my belt I plan to snag me a high paying job out of college. The question is “when will I be complete? I am in limbo with the court officer position hanging right in front of me. I want to use my major as leverage to get into the position. While I am young, I don’t mind having to be more hands on with criminal or family court. But as I get older I want the seven figure money. Taking the court officer job would mean going to school part time. This would delay my degree milestone but it would pay hella good. I am going to look into tuition reimbursement options with the court. Law school may actually be in the cards for me. I want to bust my ass in order for my family to have options in terms of everything. The sky will be the limit for us all while I do my thing.

What I am really interested in right now is real estate investing. In my spare time I have been studying this specialty and finding it is a lot more complicated then I initially thought. It is not something that would deter me from getting into it but I plan on doing a whole lot of prep work before I come out of my pocket. So far I have joined a real estate network here at BiggerPockets. I have been reading the free ebook on the website to familiarize myself with new terms and the lingo that I will have to learn to become an investor. I see the point of it so far is to “buy low and sell high”. I want to build my portfolio with multifamily properties in which I can live in and/or rent out the remaining spaces to prospective tenants. I would like to eventually buy the apartment complex that I currently live in but then again maybe not. I have also been learning how to choose property and how much a location can really matter to how fast you can fill your vacancies. I would consider this a class D neighborhood and an investment with constant money coming out of my pocket. It’s all a dream right now that I will manifest into reality.

image

*If you are looking for transition related material click here.

*If you’re interested in Entrepreneurial endeavors, take the next step here.

6 comments

  1. daniellaargento · September 9, 2015

    Fwiw financial freedom takes hard work. Make sure you spend less than you earn and that you are on top of all financial decisions. Save, lots and make sure your savings work for you. It is a journey, so enjoy the ride!

    • Suites · September 9, 2015

      “Everything that is worth it takes hard work”. I think about my future kids everyday along with more options for my surgery. It keeps me focused on the small tasks to get over the big hump. Thanks for reading

  2. Jamie Ray · September 9, 2015

    Court Officer or any other Civil Service job is a great thing to have while you play around with riskier investments. I work for NYCT and have that family health coverage and pension to fall back on. It is 5 to 6 figures depending on OT, but it puts you solidly into middle class security even when the economy tanks.

    • Suites · September 10, 2015

      Really? I just applied for the the conductor test this week…I’m happy I decided to start taking these test…you got a good job! I’m trying to get like you!…Stable

      • Jamie Ray · September 10, 2015

        Transit is very flexible, with a lot of opportunities for promotion – no one works an 8 hour day so there is plenty of easy overtime, and the benefits are very good. The hours and days off are not so good until you get seniority (because it runs 24/7 and someone has to work midnights with Tue/Wed off), but you get used to it.

      • Suites · September 10, 2015

        Man I’ll get used to that paycheck though lol. I won’t complain. I know they cover my surgery as well in full so it will be worth the crazy hours

Leave a Reply

