Testosterone Files: Weight Loss as a Transgender Male Pt 2

*Part 1 of this series can be found here

I see a lot of my attention on this blog is directed towards the journey of my weight loss and transformation of my body so I will speak more of that here. I will try to get as in depth as possible to how I did it and how testosterone has contributed to these changes in my life.

When I first started to take t, I was on .5ml per week of inject-able shots. I weighed 190 pounds the day I started.

IMG_20121112_204833

The first thing I noticed was the immediate sweat bucket I became. It was a whole lot easier to sweat when doing just about anything. There’s a fond memory of me looking like I ran 10 miles while sitting completely still. Unfortunately, while on the shots you go through all the stages of menopause before menstruation stops occurring. The plus is that the demon has been gone for a very long time. That is one of the perks of life as a male. I started to try to work out before going off to Job Corps and hurt myself. I explain most of the story here on the previous blog. What I didn’t mention is the help I got from a mentor while in the program. He would tell me some of the things I needed to eat to get bigger and get more mass on my body. He also kept encouraging me by offering me gloves and a set of weight straps that I still use to this day. He said to me “you have lost weight and built muscle at the same time”. I know that doesn’t happen very often but I was able to with the help of the testosterone. I appreciated all the help given to me along with everyone else in my life at the time.

When I went off to advanced training I was around 183 pounds but with more definition in my body. I was 1 year and a half on t so I was starting to look very androgynous. I went upstairs to the girls dorm for the first time and this chick immediately ran up to me and says “you’re on the wrong floor”. I knew for a fact by then the t was doing what it was supposed to do. I immediately became best friends with the gym shortly after arriving. I was in a completely different state and open to more change. I had become more active with my increased confidence in myself causing more weight loss. The Insanity DVD was unavailable at first so I started to jog on the treadmill. I was not used to running just yet so I used this as a way to get accumulated. My workout partner at the time and I made up our own workout using some of the moves we had learned from the dvds to keep tight. After enough badgering to the staff, a teacher had the dvd burned for us to use. It would be taken up to dorm where after class and weekends anyone could jump in to get their body right. I had my surgery date set for during the summer break so I went in with my training for the 5 months in DC before the procedure. After I had my top surgery, I can say my appetite was zilch. The tramadol I was prescribed made me feel nauseous as hell so I steered clear of it and I stuck to Tylenol. I’m guessing with the weight taken off my chest and initial recovery of the surgery I lost more weight. I walked in the beginning to stay active and as I got progressively healthy I started to jog on the track by my house. After returning to the center 2 months later, I started jogging on the campus grounds and continued with the insanity workout. I still did not see what I wanted even though weight was consistently lost. After finishing the program, I ended up with a job at a gym where I would work out after my shifts. I was then offered employment with other companies last year and I had to get clean so I worked my ass off. I did not completely diet but I added smoothies to my options of meals around this time.  I ended up taking employment as a courier/messenger. With the months of lifting and carrying packages and garments, any extra weight I had came right off and I was starting to look like a stick figure.  I was 137 pounds at this time. Walking all those city blocks and avenues in a day will really kick your butt! I was also enrolled in school and I took advantage of the free workout sessions during the week. I ended up being laid off from the position a few months ago so I used that time now to work out. I quickly got a gym membership and added some weight back on and now here I am.

11219111_987412427485_4872941205234186162_n

I took this picture in June of this year. As you can see I have done a lot of work. I thank all of the Beachbody products I have used to get myself where I am. Shawn T is my favorite trainer from the organization and I endorse his workouts. I will be updating my about section with pictures and I’ve thought to add my voice changes. As I become more comfortable sharing my transition, I’ll get more personal. Thanks for reading.

*If you are looking for transition related material click here.

*If you’re interested in Entrepreneurial endeavors, take the next step here.

2 comments

  1. Ilya · August 7, 2015

    Thanks for sharing that. Your physical transformation is amazing. I can definitely relate to the sweating buckets situation lol.

    • Suites · August 17, 2015

      I appreciate the love. Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

